When I was younger I used to always wish for a future day to come.  If I was 12 I wanted to be 13, then 16, then 18 then 21 and on and on never quite satisfied with the age at present.  I would wish Christmas would come in July.  I would wish I was in high school and then I wished I could graduate.  I wished I was married.  I wished I had children.  I wished and wished for another day other than the one I was living.

All of those wishes came true and I sit here today and thought I’ve lived my life.  I don’t wish for any future event like those any longer now I just want to go home.  There is not one single event on this earth left that I wish to experience.

I’ve had the good times, the bad times, the sad and happy times and I’ve lived my life.  What’s left to do?  The answer for me is nothing.  I don’t look forward to another single day.  I lived my life.

My grandma use to tell me when I was younger “honey don’t wish your life away” and you know what I didn’t each day came and each day went and I lived my life.

People say it’s good to save for the future and plan ahead well has anyone seen the current circumstances here and think that they can change anything?  Did all the stuff before that’s changed really make the world or it’s inhabitants any better?  I say not the only thing change has accomplished has been the need for more change.

If you can do it then I can do it better that seems to be the underlying mantra for just about everybody even if you are not willing to admit it we all feel that way about everything.

I’ve lived my life.  I care deeply about other lives but there is not anything I can do to change a life.  I can make suggestions, offer opinions and even lead the proverbial horse to water but I cannot make him drink. 

Don’t get me wrong I love the life I’ve lived.  I love my parents and I certainly loved their parents.  I’ve in short loved, love and will love my family.  I can’t show them the kind of love I have for them because we are all incapable of seeing that kind of love.  So, while here on earth it may not have appeared due to my words or actions at times that I ever loved anything or anyone but deep in a place within my life the love is there  perfectly defined.  I’ve not always in the midst of the circumstance liked where I was, what I was doing or who I was with but I lived my life.

My life has been good.  My life has been evil.  I’ve lived my life.

Then I met Jesus.

And now,

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me. Galatians 2:20

