When my youngest daughter was very young she looked at me one day and pointed to her nose and said, “Mom, smell my nose and smell what I smell.”  She was so cute, so innocent and very very wise.  She smelled something and it was something she desired to share.  She knew that her nose was the organ responsible for smell so she reasoned that if I would smell her nose I could smell the smell. 

Lately I am so overwhelmed by the Spirit of God so moved by just the sheer Love of His Presence I feel just like my daughter.  I commented, “The LORD is so real to me right now that if people could just feel what I feel, if they could just know Him like this nothing else would be desired.” 

When others preach about him I see mere glimpses and though it feels good it’s just not the same.  I read about him in books written by people who talk about him and it’s just not the same.  I’ve heard about him often from family and friends but it’s just not the same.

I’ve been a “nosey” Christian.  I’ve stuck my face in everybody else’s business at times trying honestly to get them to smell what I smell and a few Christians I’ve met are “nosey” too and stuck their face in mine.  I’ve always been curious about little “cliches” like why is it that when we search out answers we call it being “nosey”?  Why is it that when I wanted to see or hear something I was just being “nosey”.?  Is it really a bad thing to be “nosey”. 

I’ve been “nosey” and I taught my children by my example to be “nosey” and then called them “nosey” when they practiced their “nosiness”.

God is very “nosey”.   He created heaven and earth.  Then he formed man out of the earth and got right in the face of his creation and breathed into his nostrils and man became a living soul.   When we offer ourselves as a living sacrifice what does he smell? 

You know if you are in a very cold place smoke will come out of your nose.   I wonder if that’s what God feels when the scriptures relates smoke coming from his nostrils?

We offer up praise and we offer up prayers and we say things like “let it be pleasing Lord, let it be a sweet smelling smell.”

Back in the day when the temple was standing the priest would offer incense on the altar creating such smoke that he could not be seen.

These days there’s a great deal of smoke blowing……but no cloud of glory.

Psalms 11:4

The LORD [is] in his holy temple, the LORD’S throne [is] in heaven: his eyes behold, his eyelids try, the children of men.

Maybe we should follow the example here when he tests or tries mankind he closes his eyelids……sit back close your eyes and see if you smell what I smell.

The smell of a true heart beating passionately, breaking. sending forth a perfected fragrance…..Draw close LORD as I lean inward…like a rose in the plain, a lily in the valley or the smell of apples with all the right spices……….Lead me to the mountain LORD…….I am sick with love.

