Exo 38:8  And he made the laver of brass, and the foot of it of brass, of the looking glasses of the women assembling, which assembled at the door of the tabernacle of the congregation.

If you were getting ready to attend the most important event in your life, would you not prepare?  I know for me special events usually means a new outfit and more than usual attention to my appearance.  Getting ready is a task for women and the mirror is our personal judge before we ask others.  So as I was pondering this morning I thought about how much time and how often we look into mirrors.

As a child when I was taken on shopping trips with my mom or other family members I was fascinated by the mirrors in the stores.  Even today when I go I see children standing before the mirror, looking, playing, trying out expressions…all just seemingly for the sheer joy of seeing themselves or the image of themselves.

We look into mirrors to check ourselves.  Is everything in place?  We look into mirrors to test ourselves.  Does this make me look fat?  (You know men we really do ask our own self this question before we ask you)  We look into mirrors to assist us in applying the necessary adjustments to hair, face, teeth and clothing.  We look into mirrors to inspect flaws and yes a few to just marvel at the beauty.  Some of us even take along a hand held mirror wherever we go just in case we need to check, look, inspect or adjust on the way. 

When I think of all the time spent looking into mirrors I really understand how life can seem all vanity of vanities.

Can you imagine if there was a mirror at the door of ever church building in the world?  

Better yet let’s take all the mirrors and line a big vat of water and every time we enter in we have to climb up and take a look.  Under the water are these mirrors flashing back a magnified image and everything that is, is larger and all those things you thought weren’t are there staring you in the face is this image.  How would you appear?

Reminds me of those lighted cosmetic mirrors that on one side you look pretty darned good and then you flip it over and OH MY there are craters in my face…..where did all those holes come from?  So nothing left to do but adjust the light.  If we turn the nob to night time things don’t look so bad….still there in reality but hidden in the dark.  That side of the mirror was a horror to me UNLESS I discovered something on my face that really bothered me and then it became an effective tool.  You know those times when you’ve just got one little hair in the wrong place and it’s poking into your eye or the times when you eyebrows are not quite straight cause your natural vision is a little off, or heaven forbid we have one of those blemishes that just show up at the wrong time in the wrong place….like my face where everyone can see.

I thought about all these things this morning and I realized that for most of my life I’ve gone to church and it’s been like a carnival and I got stuck in the “fun house” with a hall of mirrors distorting the very image that was my beginning.  I looked in one mirror and I was too fat, another I was too tall, another not tall enough and still another just bent me all out of shape. 

I fell prey to comparing myself to others.  I was just looking at other images and attempting to measure up, adjust, inspect and present myself new and improved.  I came out of it all like an old barn that just didn’t need a fresh coat of paint, my foundation was cracked.

When I came to the end of my pondering, I concluded it was time to scrape off the paint and just take a real good look at the make-up.

Mat 23:27  Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye are like unto whited sepulchers, which indeed appear beautiful outward, but are within full of dead men’s bones, and of all uncleanness.

I decided to lay my images down…all the glassy faces that I could not measure up to and just bow my head and submit myself back to my Creator, admitting I’ve broken His vessel and knowing that even though I don’t know what he looks like I can see His image in His Word………….That’s a Rock Solid foundation…..every morning His mercy is new and everlasting and He covers my multitude of sins with pure Love…..I am fearfully and wonderfully made….

You can’t tell if you watch me but if you truly listen you’ll hear the soft whisper of the potter’s wheel turning as He fashions me with His hand…………Here I am Lord……….when you look at me may you only see Your reflection! 

Not my will but Thine O LORD!
 

