Seven years I sat under one of the greatest men that God has ever called to be a chosen vessel.  I have heard many who are called pastors, preachers and teachers but this man was one of the few who is a father to many in Christ.  Over these past years I listened, learned, cried, laughed and yes even rebelled but through it all I survived and grew in the LORD.

This journey was not always safe.  The journey was not always easy.  The discipline was not always appreciated nor pleasant.  I gave my spiritual father nothing more than the patience he gained from the tribulation of the the task of training up a head strong child into a mature adult with a strong will to serve the LORD with all my heart, mind and body.

He never led me to follow his footsteps but pushed me, fed me and led me to seek the Truth he so faithfully follows.  He is a man who loves the Word of God and keeps his feet firmly planted in the Truth, the Way and the Life given within the Word.  No amount of money could pay for the education I received and no amount of money is necessary for all that he gave was the gift within him and he gave as freely as he received.

If I could speak with a thousand tongues of men and angels the half could not be told of the wealth of pure love deposited within my heart.  The greatest lesson he taught me, the lesson that sustains me, the lesson that keeps me grounded in Truth came through these words “Always keep the main thing the main thing, and the main thing is the main thing.”

These words rang through my head when God called me to finally begin to walk in my own calling.  God said Go and leaving was not on MY agenda.  I remember back when I left home the first time I wanted to go.  I couldn’t wait to go, and I went…..not giving any thought to how my parents felt.  I wanted to be on my own, do my own thing, live my own life.  I was 18 and a child what did I know? 

Leaving my “church home” at 45 was much different.  I’ve left a great many “church buildings” for various reasons but this was home where my family protected me and my father stood up for me.  I knew that I had to go and I knew as well that I did not want to leave.  My needs, my wants, my desires all had to die.  I tried to reason within myself and self would have won had it not been for keeping the main thing the main thing.

I hurt, I cried and I stepped out with one small step that began a giant leap of faith.  I trusted the main thing.

It seemed a very dark day and I felt within my self old condemnation because I couldn’t explain my reasons and looking back there was a flaw in my attempting to explain.  I went that was obedience but trying to explain later that was weakness and opened the door for condemnation to step inside but the affliction was necessary and good for me for I learned and did not turn.  My greatest test was before me and I hear him saying now, “Lovest thou these more than me!”  I walked out onto the stormy water that day trusting the Word of God. 

I wanted fan fare.  I wanted acceptance.  I wanted understanding and in the acknowledgement within my heart that I feared God more than man I trusted the Word I hear more than what I see.  I realized that day that God has set my forehead like flint and though my heart was breaking my faith worked.

God told me to get in the boat and go to the other side and in the fourth watch of the night when it seemed the darkest I was hearing Go and just when I thought I was alone the LORD walked right into my circumstances and I questioned Him LORD is that you?  If it is bid me and the LORD said COME!

Sometimes now I see the wind, that contrary wind that blows my mind into action and I’m distracted for a moment by what I see and that’s just an opportunity to close my eyes and give my ear to hear what the Spirit is saying…..Keeping the main thing the main thing…………….it never was, never is and never will be about me and you it’s all about HIM……whatsoever He says, Do it………………..Obedience is the main thing for Obedience manifests His Love in greatest measure….

Joh 15:8  Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples. Joh 15:9  As the Father hath loved me, so have I loved you: continue ye in my love. Joh 15:10  If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. Joh 15:11  These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full. Joh 15:12  This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you. Joh 15:13  Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. Joh 15:14  Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you.

Joh 15:15  Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you.

