Luk 6:46  And why call ye me, Lord, Lord, and do not the things which I say?
Luk 6:47  Whosoever cometh to me, and heareth my sayings, and doeth them, I will show you to whom he is like:
Luk 6:48  He is like a man which built a house, and digged deep, and laid the foundation on a rock: and when the flood arose, the stream beat vehemently upon that house, and could not shake it: for it was founded upon a rock.

Jesus says if you say I am your possessor, your owner, your Master then why do you not obey?  If I call Him (Jesus) Lord then I am declaring He is Supreme, He is my Master, I am His servant.  Some may find this difficult to believe but when I was a certain age a longing to be owned awakened within me.  As a child I spent a great deal of time telling folks you’re not my boss.  As a teenager I said many times “it’s my life”.  But I was wrong.  Truth is from the moment I came into this world I belonged it’s just that people with myself included kept clouding my vision and as a result I’ve accumulated a great many scars from what I now recognize to be very necessary battles.

I see all too clearly now that childhood game “king of the mountain”.  You know the one where one person is dubbed the king and the object is for someone to knock him off his throne and take his place.  Okay maybe I’m alone in this memory but myself and others have played this old game often.  I always thought and was taught that the goal was to work my way up, arriving at the proverbial top of the ladder or mountain which ever way you play the game the rules are the same. 

Lack of submission, rebellion, disobedience that’s what caused all these mountains in my life.  It started with my parents.  Earth was all I knew as a child and my parents were the first people I saw so I was a product of nature taking it’s course.  Two people made one person a…what….what will I be…?

My parent’s DNA produced my body all my natural outward features mirror them.  It was my mind that was so active with meaning that I could not understand….I must learn….who will teach me?  Who will reconcile this divided hemisphere bringing two parts back to one whole truth?  Was my mind the foundation? The answer to that question for me is emphatically no for me the mind was a battlefield of sound.

A flood of information swept over my mind as the years of my youth faded into adulthood.  Indeed a steady stream of opinions that after a while just became a chaotic mass of data.  Layers and layers covering my mind darkening my understanding.  Facts were entered and decisions made some good some evil yet none entirely truthful.  Yesterdays facts became todays doubts and the battle raged on like a storm.

Every time I would take a step another wave crashed in and each one making more noise than the one preceding.    I finally just let go and let myself sink and in the blackness of the abyss that was confusion I heard a voice.

The voice seemed familiar somehow yet distant.  I cried deep within myself not just in my head but finally with my heart.  The sound of my own voice echoed against the chambers of my inner most being as if rebounding against stone.  Seemingly blind I reached in and attempted to grasp the voice with my mind but always falling short.  I realized that I could not trust my own eyes nor my intellect to find the source of this voice.

I could only but stand and listen…and listen.  Faith was born………..I hear and I want to sacrifice all that I have for the voice but He only bids me obey.

I lay my will aside deep in the darkness and He draws me out of the deep with the promise of a home with a Sure foundation.

The life I live is not my own….

Nor is this world my home

I left the shifting sandy shore

To follow Him alone.

He built the house

He dug deep

He laid the foundation

He alone is Worthy!

