My pastor has been asking us “What Time is It?”  A question asked with an answer already given.  This series has impressed upon me so greatly that nothing else seems to matter.  The question did not catch me by surprise because I’ve been on the Time journey since my birth.    My pastor is using the scripture from Rom 13:11  And that, knowing the time, that now it is high time to awake out of sleep: for now is our salvation nearer than when we believed.

Gives me the impression of the many times that I went to bed intending to wake up early only to fall asleep to be awakened by the sun spilling into my room and realizing that it was 12:00 and yes that’s PM.  Amazing how in the way we measure time on our clocks that everything rotates around 12……intervals of 5 minutes….60 seconds in every minute….60 minutes in every hour..24 hours in every day that we call day.  12PM starts our night….12AM begins our day.  High noon that’s when it’s showdown time……midnight is when we expect to hear the cry! 

I really looked at the way I’ve lived my life for that’s my only point of reference is my life.  I recognized that when I wake up late things always seem rushed and hurried.  I say things like “Where has the day gone?”  “My day is over before it began.”  You can get the picture, or am I the only one.

Somewhere back in time we stopped using the sun and harness that principle placing it in a small device that sits by our beds we call our Alarm Clock.  We set the alarm, lay down and it sends out a sound at the appointed time that we set.  I can remember the one my grandmother had it was a monster.  Big round face that you wound up each night and in the morning a little metal thing between two bells would start clanging away.  There was no “snooze” button for that thing, no need for one cause you could get back to sleep after that jolt.

Do you think of this just came into the minds of men by accident?  That would take a great deal of belief, yet the smallest amount of faith.

We say all the time man invented, well if man invents who inspires?

By one breath of God and one Word of God all things exists, like God breathed and heaven and earth came into being.  But we couldn’t see the beauty of it all until he spoke and when he did speak he spoke Light and everything began to be revealed.  The Day existed and was separated from the Night. 

God created both.  God saw on the first day that the Light was Good, nothing said of the Dark execpt that it was separated from the Day.  But we do know that the Dark was on the face of the deep and the Spirit or breath of God was sitting on the face of the deep.  The earth was empty, void until God spoke.  You know it’s no different today.  Without God’s Word we are just empty, void spaces, wildernesses, barren.   And for every idle word that you speak, every darkened word you will be judged by….so what are we to do?

God says that it’s important that we Hear….have an ear to hear.

Time began when God spoke…..why do you think Jesus said,

Mat 24:35  Heaven and earth shall pass away, but my words shall not pass away.
Mat 24:36  But of that day and hour knoweth no man, no, not the angels of heaven, but my Father only.

Because if he knew that it would have been spoken by the Father and if the Father would have spoken that Word it would have happened.    When God the Father, the Creator speak His Word Creates therefore there is a Word coming that will be spoken and when it is spoken men will have a new thing to look into and attempt to explain, recreate and fashion to his own likes or dislikes.

Time was set, the alarm is about to sound does it have to come with such a clamor and take us by surprise.

For me it doesn’t…..I’m married you see and a gentle hand has awaken me this day to speak softly and say I’m coming for you Soon, wake up the day is far spent it’s time for you to work while it is yet day for Night is coming…..Judgement is at the door.

I feel just like John Wesley must have felt when he said, “I set myself on fire and the people come to watch me burn”.

The ultimate inspiration is the deadline.
— Nolan Bushnell
American Businessman, Founder of Atari Computer

