Pro 5:1  My son, attend unto my wisdom, and bow thine ear to my understanding:
Pro 5:1  Dear friend, pay close attention to this, my wisdom; listen very closely to the way I see it.

 When I was a child my grandmother used to call me aside with her to sit down for awhile and she would talk.  I heard what she said while we sat but I came and sat down for what she had.

My grandmother always kept gum in her apron pocket.  Plain old Wrigley’s Spearmint Gum and Wrigley’s Juicy Fruit gum.  Now the Juicey fruit was much sweeter because I had tasted it but that was Grandaddy’s gum, the kind he liked to chew, so grandma kept both kinds in her pocket.  Grandma chewed the spearmint.  When I or anyone (except grandpa) asked for gum she always pulled out and offered the spearmint.  She offered what she liked, what was hers.  She never offered what was reserved for grandpa.  (There’s a lesson in the two gums that’s beyond these pages)

The point is I came for the reward not the conversation.  Later in life there were all kinds of gums to be had but only one word from my grandmother…as I grew older gum became less significant and her words were priceless.  As a child she spoke to me as one would to a child.  Come sit down by me she would say patting the apron pocket so that I could see…sometimes she never said anything, sometimes she just closed her eyes and rested, sometimes she twirled her thumbs and looked out into no place particular yet seemingly some place wonderful and peaceful for it made her face soft.    She taught me how to sit quietly, how to think deep and how to wait on good things even when it wasn’t fun to a child.  There was a time to play everyday and a time to sit.  Her words all had meaning that would one day be really significant to my well being, but at the time it was about the gum.  The gum that I could ask for all day long and it was supplied yet for a brief moment everyday of my life I would sit with her to get a piece of gum.  Some days when the time came to sit I would have just finished a piece of gum yet I would sit for the gum.  The pack was white, not very colorful at all to attract the eye of a child; there was only five pieces to the pack not the jumbo kind of today when nothing or no amount seems big enough to satisfy.  The gum minty and grey again not the big bubblicious world of strings and strings of pretty pink goo…full of sugary sweet substance that sticks to everything.

Today I understand everything grandma was saying through Proverbs 5….Her words kept me from slipping, the gum was so close then it drew me in…..The true reward was in the Word she spoke…..the gum was the gift that was always there for the asking….

It was a simple Gospel my Grandma had…….but today I’m thankful I inclined my ear….All the rest of the “gospels” in this world are like the progression of gum…shinier packages, multiple sticks, sweeter, fancier, bigger names..chew them all up for a while and spit it out cause that stuff will gum you up and rot your teeth….yet when caught with our mouth full of gum we usually in rebellion just swallow it to hide it all inside rather than heed the good warning “spit that out”.

O my soul for just one simple gospel rolled up in a white package with grace wrapped in the silver lining of redemption.  Attending to the Word…brought the ultimate reward of One who took the spear….meant for me so that I may sit at His feet and once again be set apart for the reward of heeding His Words.

Dark saying, a proverb from my childhood…yes when I was a child those words were dark but when I was grown I put away childish things and just began to speak His word…If it is clouded and unclear…to some I say come a little closer leave the path your own and Hear Wisdom….she still cries….

Pro 5:2  That thou mayest regard discretion, and that thy lips may keep knowledge.
Pro 5:2  Then you’ll acquire a taste for good sense; what I tell you will keep you out of trouble.

Pro 5:3  For the lips of a strange woman drop as a honeycomb, and her mouth is smoother than oil:
Pro 5:3  The lips of a seductive woman are oh so sweet, her soft words are oh so smooth.

Pro 5:4  But her end is bitter as wormwood, sharp as a twoedged sword.
Pro 5:4  But it won’t be long before she’s gravel in your mouth, a pain in your gut, a wound in your heart.

Pro 5:5  Her feet go down to death; her steps take hold on hell.
Pro 5:5  She’s dancing down the primrose path to Death; she’s headed straight for Hell and taking you with her.

Pro 5:6  Lest thou shouldest ponder the path of life, her ways are movable, that thou canst not know them.
Pro 5:6  She hasn’t a clue about Real Life, about who she is or where she’s going.

Pro 5:7  Hear me now therefore, O ye children, and depart not from the words of my mouth.
Pro 5:7  So, my friend, listen closely; don’t treat my words casually.

Pro 5:8  Remove thy way far from her, and come not nigh the door of her house:
Pro 5:8  Keep your distance from such a woman; absolutely stay out of her neighborhood.

Pro 5:9  Lest thou give thine honor unto others, and thy years unto the cruel:
Pro 5:9  You don’t want to squander your wonderful life, to waste your precious life among the hardhearted.

Pro 5:10  Lest strangers be filled with thy wealth; and thy labors be in the house of a stranger;
Pro 5:10  Why should you allow strangers to take advantage of you? Why be exploited by those who care nothing for you?

Pro 5:11  And thou mourn at the last, when thy flesh and thy body are consumed,
Pro 5:11  You don’t want to end your life full of regrets, nothing but sin and bones,

Pro 5:12  And say, How have I hated instruction, and my heart despised reproof;
Pro 5:12  Saying, “Oh, why didn’t I do what they told me? Why did I reject a disciplined life?

Pro 5:13  And have not obeyed the voice of my teachers, nor inclined mine ear to them that instructed me!
Pro 5:13  Why didn’t I listen to my mentors, or take my teachers seriously?

Pro 5:14  I was almost in all evil in the midst of the congregation and assembly.
Pro 5:14  My life is ruined! I haven’t one blessed thing to show for my life!”

Pro 5:15  Drink waters out of thine own cistern, and running waters out of thine own well.
Pro 5:15  Do you know the saying, “Drink from your own rain barrel, draw water from your own spring-fed well”?

Pro 5:16  Let thy fountains be dispersed abroad, and rivers of waters in the streets.
Pro 5:16  It’s true. Otherwise, you may one day come home and find your barrel empty and your well polluted.

Pro 5:17  Let them be only thine own, and not strangers’ with thee.
Pro 5:17  Your spring water is for you and you only, not to be passed around among strangers.

Pro 5:18  Let thy fountain be blessed: and rejoice with the wife of thy youth.
Pro 5:18  Bless your fresh-flowing fountain! Enjoy the wife you married as a young man!

Pro 5:19  Let her be as the loving hind and pleasant roe; let her breasts satisfy thee at all times; and be thou ravished always with her love.
Pro 5:19  Lovely as an angel, beautiful as a rose– don’t ever quit taking delight in her body. Never take her love for granted!

Pro 5:20  And why wilt thou, my son, be ravished with a strange woman, and embrace the bosom of a stranger?
Pro 5:20  Why would you trade enduring intimacies for cheap thrills with a whore? for dalliance with a promiscuous stranger?

Pro 5:21  For the ways of man are before the eyes of the LORD, and he pondereth all his goings.
Pro 5:21  Mark well that GOD doesn’t miss a move you make; he’s aware of every step you take.

Pro 5:22  His own iniquities shall take the wicked himself, and he shall be holden with the cords of his sins.
Pro 5:22  The shadow of your sin will overtake you; you’ll find yourself stumbling all over yourself in the dark.

Pro 5:23  He shall die without instruction; and in the greatness of his folly he shall go astray.
Pro 5:23  Death is the reward of an undisciplined life; your foolish decisions trap you in a dead end.
 
 

