Give me oil for my lamp,
Keep me burnin’ for the Lord
Give me oil for my lamp I pray
Hallelujah!
Give me oil for my lamp,
Keep me burnin’ for the Lord
Keep me burnin’ till the break of day
Sing Hosanna
Sing Hosanna
Sing Hosanna to the King of Kings
Sing Hosanna
Sing Hosanna
Sing Hosanna to the King

If the Word is a Lamp unto my feet and a Light unto my path…what is my fuel, my oil except PRAYER.

 Oil has been taught to be a symbol of the Holy Spirit and I agree that they are a part of each other.  We have the Word, that’s our Lamp, Jesus was the Word made flesh and John describes him in Revelation has having eyes like flames of fire.  He looks at us and can burn us up or purify us by igniting the fuel within us.  What is this fuel “the oil” and where does one get it?  In the story of the Ten Virgins we know that 5 of them did not have enough to make the journey.  They all had lamps, the all had oil, they all were pure virgins….but half did not have enough oil and were left behind when the Bridegroom returned and the call went out…..5 out of the 10 begged for more oil, all 10 heard the cry and woke up, all 10 trimmed their lamps…but the 5 foolish asked the 5 wise to give them oil because their lamps had gone out.   The wise 5 told the foolish 5 to go to them that sell and buy for yourselves…while they were gone back to buy the bridegroom came and those wise ones that were ready entered into the marriage and THE DOOR WAS SHUT!!!  The foolish returned and cried “open to us” and the Lord said, I know you not.

I want to be counted with the wise….in order to be wise I must have wisdom…wisdom comes from God.

Jam 1:5If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.

Again asking God….PRAYER

Jam 1:6But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed.

Let me ask in faith….faith comes by hearing and hearing by the WORD….the Word will not return void….all Biblical, sound scriptural Truths.

So could my prayers be the fuel for my lamp?

Jesus prayed in the Garden of Gethsemane.  He pleaded with Peter, James and John to stay awake and pray, watch and pray he said so that you will enter not into temptation….the Spirit is willing…the flesh is weak…..he cries…Jesus wanted them to pray with him…..he was in a place called Gethsemane….meaning the “oil press, or the oil vat”  he was being pressed out in prayer….

Interesting note about olive oil extraction, at the time of Jesus they would beat the trees with sticks so that the olives would fall and then press them against stones or with wooden beams.  Do you see a picture?  Also olive oil seems to have properties within it that make our arteries more elastic allowing blood to flow more freely.  In light of the fact that Jesus sweat blood I would say it’s safe to say he was pressed out in prayer…….the Bible states that Jesus was heavy, sorrowful unto death, the weight caused him to fall…fall into even more intense prayer…..until he had enough oil pressed out for the journey he must now take according to the Will of Our Father.

There is power in prayer.  I am just beginning to understand.  You know how when you put oil on the stove and light a fire underneath it and leave it for a time the oil will smoke……quickly it will catch fire…….the candlestick, the shewbread, the Altar of Incense all located in the Holy Place….A place where the Word rested pictured by the shewbread, a place of worship…pictured in the Altar of Incense….the Candlestick now that’s where the oil was!  The oil in the lamp of the Holy Place.  A light within for there was no natural light within this place.  Morning and night the priest would replenish the oil…..kind of like praying…..?  Are you filled today?

Are we pressed out in prayer?

Rev 5:8  And when he had taken the book, the four beasts and four and twenty elders fell down before the Lamb, having every one of them harps, and golden vials full of odors, which are the prayers of saints.
Rev 8:3  And another angel came and stood at the altar, having a golden censer; and there was given unto him much incense, that he should offer it with the prayers of all saints upon the golden altar which was before the throne.
Rev 8:4  And the smoke of the incense, which came with the prayers of the saints, ascended up before God out of the angel’s hand. 

Psa 141:1 A Psalm of David. LORD, I cry unto thee: make haste unto me; give ear unto my voice, when I cry unto thee.

Psa 141:2 Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.  

1Jo 2:20 But ye have an unction from the Holy One, and ye know all things.  (The word unction here means a “smearing”) Eph 6:18 Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints; Just maybe could prayer be the fuel….for our lamps…Are you wise and prayed up or foolish and left wanting…….Luk 13:23 Then said one unto him, Lord, are there few that be saved? And he said unto them,

Luk 13:24 Strive to enter in at the strait gate: for many, I say unto you, will seek to enter in, and shall not be able.

Strive means to contend as with an adversary…..take the sword of the Spirit which is the Word of God that’s the Word Ephesians 6:17 our weapon is not carnal but spiritual….then how do we as earth bound creatures use a spiritual sword…..Eph…6:18 Eph 6:18 Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;

Just a thought what do you think?  As for me….I am truly praying without ceasing…..Give me oil for my Lamp…….

