2Pe 1:16 For we have not followed cunningly devised fables, when we made known unto you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but were eyewitnesses of his majesty.

We follow what seems right in our own eyes.  Yet, we are called, commanded to “deny ourselves, take up OUR cross, and follow Jesus.”(Matthew 16:24)

Let’s look!

Deny ourselves means to abstain from being who you are.  Looking at the Greek word for “deny” we find a compound word “apo” meaning to put off and “ameomai” meaning to contradiction.  Simply stated we are to put off our “double minds”.  Put away the contradiction of good and evil and trust TRUTH.  Can you hear the lie of the serpent….Trust me.  How often we repeat that simple phrase “trust me”, trust me.  Ususlly we say that because we are speaking out of our own experiences, like that has made us an authority on any situation.  Trust me we say, followed by I’ve been their.  Yet, Jesus said IF any man will come after me, let him deny himself.  We are calling ourselves follower of Jesus, yet we put our misquided trust in a blind guide called self.  How many times has someone come to you and ask for help and the first words out of your mouth were, “God says!”.  The Bible teaches us that out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.  God commands us to hide the Word in our heart so that we may not sin against him.  So I have concluded that for my mouth to be trusted it must speak Truth and Jesus said He was the Truth.  Jesus was the Word of God made flesh.  We want others to believe that we have Jesus in our hearts, but we open our mouths and we are judged by the fruit of our lips….we honor God with our lips but our hearts are far from Him…(Mark 7:6)

 We have learned to speak “Christian” so well that we have forgotten Christ.  We work under our own power and knowledge and call it the “annointing” and yet it is ineffective and doesn’t perform and we then explain or blame it on God.  It is blasphemous at best to say the words “God’s Will” to excuse your ineffectiveness. 

Well maybe it wasn’t God’s will….we hear that all the time…well maybe it wasn’t God’s will………….What is God’s will?  God’s will is His Word is it not?   Truth is it is written what God’s will is, we have heard it, we have read it, we have wrote about it…but is it in your heart?  To take something to heart means that you plant it deep within a organ that will tranport the life of it throughout your body.  Is that not what the heart does?  Pump blood.  Jesus gave us a cup, He said this is my blood, drink, this is the cup of my New Testament in blood.  It was His very Spirit, his life, for again the scriptures state that the “life is in the blood”.   A fist against his face brought forth blood, a hand ripping out his beard brought forth blood, a crown of thorns pressed down on his head brought forth blood, a scourge whipped his flesh to shreds bringing forth blood, nails pierced his hands and feet and brought forth blood, and a sword pierced his side and blood poured out of his side….yet that was not the first instance for the first time we see the blood is in the Garden.  Jesus prayed until he felt the agony so great that the sweat from his brow brought forth blood….in that Garden he prayed to God to let the cup pass, but nevertheless not MY will but thine be done…..He went back to the beginning a Garden and stood before the tree of the knowledge of “good and evil” and he prayed until he cast down every imagination that his humanity could conceive and denied himself.  He settled the “old debt” in his mind, he felt the agony in his flesh but there was a higher calling….God did not speak during this time of prayer because Jesus wasn’t asking.  Jesus was pouring out his humanity and dying to himself.  Simply put “He let go and Let God.  He trusted TRUTH.  He put away the contradiction and stated that if this cup may not pass away from me except I drink it… thy will be done.  The words of a King!  I will not trust in myself but I will speak and act for the good of the people.  What is the good of the people?  The Bible states  that Jesus said;

Mat 19:17  And he said unto him, Why callest thou me good? there is none good but one, that is, God: but if thou wilt enter into life, keep the commandments. 

So Truth is,  only God is Good. In order to have eternal life we must keep His commandments.  God says in His word that we must keep the whole commandment if we are guilty of breaking one we are guilty of ALL.  So what can WE do?  Can you imagine being arrested for a traffic ticket, going into court and the judge asking how do you plead, you say Guilty your honor and the judge saying I find you guilty of the traffic violation, and murder, and rape, and stealing and perjury etc……until every law was stated.  You think,  all I did was run a stop sign I didn’t do all that other….. the gavel falls the sentence of death is issued and you are led away.  Your goodness could not save you.  All the good you can do is undone by one what we like to call “little mistake”.  The fact that you are stained with that one sin condemns you to death.    What can we do with such a harsh sentence…..?  Appeal to the King?

A true King will deny himself and lay His own life down for others.  Have your seen His Majesty?

Throughout history the world has cried out for a KING!  Someone to rule and reign over them, decide “good and evil” yet God was not pleased.

Hos 9:15 All their wickedness is in Gilgal: for there I hated them: for the wickedness of their doings I will drive them out of mine house, I will love them no more: all their princes are revolters.

Gilgal was a place of circumcision, a place to be remembered for cutting away the flesh.  God chose it as the place to annoint the first king.  Interesting based on the fact that God used the place of the First Passover observance after the release from Eygpt to give the people a king.  A king that would take their sons, daughters, weapons of war, all their fields, vineyards, gardens, servants, sheep, your whole life with all it substance will be controlled and taken over by this king…not God’s will be he allowed the people to have what they asked for told them what would happen, and they wanted it anyway.  Do we still want a king that takes instead of receiving the only King of Kings, and Lord of Lords who gave everything to us.

God, I am sick to death of what we have done.  We have continued to sin against you.  After all the mercy, grace and love you have shown we just keep wanting you to save us but we put our trust in men to rule us.  We have set up idols of our selves in the land, we take your name in vain by using your name, yet not obeying your word.  I have judged myself LORD by your word and have come up lacking.  I am undone in the face of TRUTH.  God today I cannot look into your face until I have looked back on the face of Calvary.  The face that is unrecognizable,  that’s your Son hanging their beaten, mocked, accused.  Yet it becomes clear Father why I cannot recognize the face, that’s my image there on that cross, that’s the image of what my sin did to you.   I did not want to look and see myself but when Jesus was lifted up he drew me to look.   Oh my Father, you have not left me, you denied yourself all the glory to become like me to take my place on that cross.  No greater love have I seen.  My God, I am standing now under the precious flow of your own sacrifice and as the blood flows I am cleansed.  I am healed.  I can see you now high and lifted up.  I have rolled back the curtain of my mind like a wheel, returning to my first love.  I have repented, turned from those wicked ways but look at me now Father, search me and try me.  Know my heart.  God you cast aside your garment of Glory and took on flesh.  Today I crucify my flesh, and see a new garment a train of Glory dropping down to fill this temple.  I am denying myself.  I am taking up my cross and following you.   May Your Word Light my Path, according to Your will. I pray not of my own accord but in the Name of Jesus Christ My Savior, AND LORD, may His name be Praised…..This will be continued but His Majesty has entered the room of my Heart….for now I’ll just break here and enjoy His presence………….

